ANCIENT MYSTERY REVEALED

Hi there, I’m James MacGregor and I’m new here. I’d like to thank the SFU Cognitive Science Lab for having me on board! It’s been an exciting time so far — in the three weeks I’ve been coming in, I have already learned how to run subjects in the eye tracking lab; I have been reading/proofing a number of new research papers that are up for submission (check here soon for these, I think); I have been messing around with some data and SQL to check a script’s output; and I’m also doing some background/reference reading for another ongoing project on reinforcement learning. This is great, because my number one reason for joining the lab was so that I could learn first-hand how research in the field is carried out. I have a feeling that that’ll be happening a ton over the next little while, and that I’ll be contributing where I can.

And speaking of contributions! Thanks to my longstanding 2-pots a day coffee habit (I’m now down to .5-pot/day and feel fine, FINE), I am in a unique position to shed some light on a mystery that has been plaguing the lab since roughly July 22, 2010: the word you are looking for, ladies and gentlemen, is carafe.

